Japan Selects Four Overseas Projects For Growing Carbon Credit Programme

Japan’s Ministry of the Environment (MOE) has announced four new projects selected for the first round of the country’s Joint Crediting Mechanism (JCM) Financing Support Programme for 2023.

The latest projects, one in Mexico and three in the Philippines bring the total number of supported JCM Model Projects to 219, and the cumulative reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by FY2030 is expected to be approximately 20 million tons-CO2.

MOE Japan received a variety of applications for the JCM Model Projects for this first round and selected the four projects related to the effective use of energy and renewable energy, such as solar power generation.

In a statement, MOE Japan said it will continue to strongly promote the overseas expansion of decarbonising infrastructure through the JCM, based on its “Plan for Global Warming Countermeasures, and others.

The latest tranche of projects includes a rooftop solar power system to an automotive parts factory in Mexico, while in the Philippines the three projects there are tied to a rooftop solar power system to an electronic equipment assembly factory, a waste heat recovery power generation system for a cement plant and a solar power project on Bohol Island.

The JCM aims to reduce GHG emissions in developing countries and others by utilising advanced decarbonising technologies.

Under the JCM scheme, in line with Article 6 of the Paris Agreement, Japan is facilitating the diffusion of leading decarbonising technologies and infrastructure as well as the implementation of mitigation actions in partner countries.

The JCM contributes to the achievement of Japan’s and partner countries’ NDCs while ensuring the avoidance of double counting through corresponding adjustments.

Since 2013, Japan has established the JCM with 27 partner countries and over 200 projects have been selected.

The JCM’s 27 current partner countries are Mongolia, Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Kenya, Maldives, Vietnam, Laos, Indonesia, Costa Rica, Palau, Cambodia, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Chile, Myanmar, Thailand, Philippines, Senegal, Tunisia, Azerbaijan, Moldova, Georgia, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Papua New Guinea, United Arab Emirates, and Kyrgyz Republic.